Northwest Scale RC

Site Announcements

Attention....... attention...... I am in the process of revamping the page. So hang on tight and all will be informed, in due time!!

:worthless:

It is currently Mon Aug 21, 2017 3:35 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 71 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:11 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Tenino, WA
Eric wrote:
hlb3 wrote:
There is firmware for 3, 6, or 8 channels, I'm running the 6ch firmware on mine. Some of the advanced features unlocked by the new firmware are a bit tricky to figure out, but if you pm or post a question to Austin (who sells the hack kits), he is very good about helping people figure it out. As far as the basic functions like EPA's, trim, etc, the controls are VERY easy and user friendly. The nice thing is you can remap all the buttons, so you can set it up exactly how you like it.

As far as modifications, what kind of mods are you wanting to do? Doing the hack kit is simple, same with swapping over to lipos.

Before selling off all your stuff I would play with one first, make sure you like it. I personally think it is one of the best bang for your buck radios period.



So I can get 6 ch in the pistol grip? or are you running a stick radio? How does that work with the reciever? Or is it just buy the 6ch reciever?

Hack kit and using more functions is alwasy a nice thing.

For 35 bucks if it works you are doing good for bang for buck, and this is my worry. I will have to find someone that has one set up I can play with a little bit.


Yup, 6ch (or 8) in a pistol grip style radio. You can still use the 3ch receivers with it, to get the 6ch or 8ch features to work just buy a 6 or 8ch receiver, my 6ch receivers were $9, so they are still crazy cheap.

Are you going to the WARCRC scale comp on the 31st? If so I'd be happy to let you mess around with mine.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 2:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:27 am
Posts: 70
Location: Tacoma
hlb3 wrote:


Are you going to the WARCRC scale comp on the 31st? If so I'd be happy to let you mess around with mine.



I wish I was going, but right now all crawlers are in boxes. Bought a house and have yet to get back into the crawlers yet. Thank you for the offer :cheers: And most of them are in the boxes and they are all in need of something. I have most of a comp crawler together right now and thats about it.

Right now I am in the research stage of this idea, and its a good distraction while at work .......


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 2:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:11 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Tenino, WA
If you think of anymore questions feel free to ask, it's definitely a radio I think everybody should look into since it is so versatile, scalers, supers, 1.9's, shafties, MOA's, it can pretty much be setup to run anything.

So far I have $115 invested in this setup, that's with the radio and 3ch receiver, 3 extra 6ch receivers, hack kit, and 2 lipos, and functionally it will do what a stupid expensive 4PK can do and then some. For a 4PK with 3 extra receivers you would be looking at almost $650!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:26 pm 
Offline
Supporting Member.
Supporting Member.

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Yelm WA
Yup...... what Les said..... LOL. Go read RCC and RC tech if you need to "research" it any further. There are a bunch of the same questions you are asking and are going to ask already been posted and answered like thirty times. And all the same skeptical stuff.

_________________
Will my C3 rig ever get finished?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 7:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 8:27 am
Posts: 70
Location: Tacoma
Jokerswild wrote:
Yup...... what Les said..... LOL. Go read RCC and RC tech if you need to "research" it any further. There are a bunch of the same questions you are asking and are going to ask already been posted and answered like thirty times. And all the same skeptical stuff.



I will read thru that thread before buying, sometimes its nice to just ask a few people, and not ask a huge community!

Thank you for the input. :thumb:


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 5:11 pm 
Offline
Supporting Member.
Supporting Member.

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Yelm WA
Eric wrote:
Jokerswild wrote:
Yup...... what Les said..... LOL. Go read RCC and RC tech if you need to "research" it any further. There are a bunch of the same questions you are asking and are going to ask already been posted and answered like thirty times. And all the same skeptical stuff.



I will read thru that thread before buying, sometimes its nice to just ask a few people, and not ask a huge community!

Thank you for the input. :thumb:



Yup no problem..... I have no problem answering the questions, just figured you would get more of a feel for what it is by reading the 200 pages of it going from fixing minor things to re programing the entire unit completely by the people actually doing the programming and building the uses first hand. The 3 main people that made it all come together were PSX, Vang and Austin (losikid). Im sure there were more but the main people to get it to the crawler side and such were those 3. Take a look and like Les said, Austin has no problem answering any questions or helping you with any issues with the GT3B and programing. When my class 3 rig gets done it will have a bunch of things that show the ability of the GT3B on 6 channels. Once its done I have no worries with letting anyone screw with the controller to see and use all of the functions. It will be one big eye opener on how far a $35 radio can go with around $100 in parts to become more functional than a $400 radio.

_________________
Will my C3 rig ever get finished?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 10:23 pm 
Offline
Supporting Member.
Supporting Member.

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Yelm WA
Figured I would post since I re calibrated my voltage


Quote:
Calibration Procedure (you will need a volt meter)

To enter menu turn radio on, turn wheel full right then press and hold enter.
Its also displays right after you flash a new firmware...from stock firmware

With the 1 displayed on your left
Hold ST Wheel full left till numbers stop moving,
Press enter
Let ST Wheel center, once numbers stop changing
press enter
Turn wheel full right, once numbers stop changing
press enter

Now turn the enter button till 2 is displayed on your left

Hold trigger full throttle, let numbers stabilize
press enter
Let trigger center, let numbers stabilize
press enter
push trigger full reverse, let numbers stabilize
Press enter

now scroll to 4

with a volt meter measure your current battery voltage
press enter (while 4 is displayed)
Now scroll to the voltage your volt mete read
press enter

Now press and hold enter till you exit the calibration menu.
__________________

_________________
Will my C3 rig ever get finished?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:04 pm 
Offline
Supporting Member.
Supporting Member.

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Yelm WA
Losikid wrote:
i'll have some new high efficiency voltage regulators. It'll increase your pack time by nearly 50%

Right now, with backlight off, the current drain is ~110ma with the new VR its going to be ~60ma

Right now with backlight on, the current drain is ~130ma and the new VR will be ~75ma

Testing was done at 11.4V,

pricing will be $10-15 and will require 3 solder joints...if anyone would like to pre-order lmk.

_________________
Will my C3 rig ever get finished?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:22 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:11 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Tenino, WA
Hmm interesting. I seem to be getting crazy run time out of my lipo pack, I've got about 2.5 hours on the first pack and the voltage hasn't really gone down too much. I see what my run time is after a few packs to see if I need something like that.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 1:33 am 
Offline
Supporting Member.
Supporting Member.

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Yelm WA
What pack did you end up with Les? 3s 2s? Over in the RCC thread Austin and I have been talking about these 3.7 volt cells that are slightly larger than AA batteries. Im thinking of picking some of them up. Should be pretty interesting to say the least.

_________________
Will my C3 rig ever get finished?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 7:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:11 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Tenino, WA
2200mah 3s. Did a lot of searching and found a lot of people running these, so that's what I went with.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 2682wt_927


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 2:01 pm 
Offline
Supporting Member.
Supporting Member.

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Yelm WA
sweet.... well I ordered two of those. Still cheaper than the other small cells. Im still going to do the VR mod when it gets here and see how long I can keep a pack charged for

_________________
Will my C3 rig ever get finished?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 4:05 pm 
Offline
Supporting Member.
Supporting Member.

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Yelm WA
Hey Les..... did you replace the voltage regulator?? Just got mine in, just curious if yours gets hot when running the lipo.


FYI.... new version out if anyone cares. hahaha


*0.4.1 ()

minimum battery voltage set to 6V
For 2s LIPO and new VR
CH3 key set default to OFF
No more accidental winches spooling in on power up
added DGR key function to reset DIG mix to centre
So you can press the ch3 button to rest your mix to 0
added posibility to select DIG instead of channel number at MultiPosition
Had this implemented, so you can have 2 positions to swap between your
favorite mix positions easily (0% and 40% for ex)
added lap count functions assignable to keys
Not much use for us

_________________
Will my C3 rig ever get finished?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 7:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:11 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Tenino, WA
No, I didn't do the voltage regulator, haven't really seen the need yet.

Good to know there is another update, doesn't sound like anything I need at the moment so I'll probably hold off on updating.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 4:03 pm 
Offline
Supporting Member.
Supporting Member.

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Yelm WA
hlb3 wrote:
No, I didn't do the voltage regulator, haven't really seen the need yet.

Good to know there is another update, doesn't sound like anything I need at the moment so I'll probably hold off on updating.


Keep an eye on the heat of it. Been hearing on long runs it will get pretty hot and may melt. I havent updated the firmware but never hurts to keep it current. LOL. And you dont have to re program or bind if its same main version number :green:

_________________
Will my C3 rig ever get finished?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:29 am 
Offline
Supporting Member.
Supporting Member.

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Yelm WA
Since this is an old thread and I have been doing more with this radio lately I figured I would update if anyone else has one or is inquiring into one.

Updating to V 6.0 when I get back home.

Also is another fs radio out gf3c

_________________
Will my C3 rig ever get finished?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 9:39 pm 
Offline
Supporting Member.
Supporting Member.

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Yelm WA
To use the ch 3 trim for 3 pos dig or 3 pos winch

Long click REV (enter the key mapping menu)
Scroll to 3, enter (choose the ch 3 trim)
scroll to CH3, enter (select funtion...CH3 means controlling ch3)
Scroll to NOL, enter (Select how you want the switch to operate, NOL means No long clicks, so if you press and hold there isn;t a secondary function)
scroll to 100, press and hold enter (your step rate (amount of %'s your servo/channel moves per click)
press back till your at the home screen (save and exit)
Change NOL to MOM if you want a momentary type control....MOM doesn't need the "step" setting so just enter long after MOM

_________________
Will my C3 rig ever get finished?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 4:00 pm
Posts: 17
So the radio needs to be hacked to do the 3pos?

Sent from my SM-N910P using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:20 pm 
Offline
Larry the Scaler Guy
Larry the Scaler Guy

Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 9:29 pm
Posts: 1637
is this still the go to cheap radio setup??? or is there something new and better???

_________________
TEAM Br00d


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:28 pm 
Offline
Supporting Member.
Supporting Member.

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Yelm WA
Blazer72 wrote:
So the radio needs to be hacked to do the 3pos?

Sent from my SM-N910P using Tapatalk



Yea. Stock is only 2 pos.

_________________
Will my C3 rig ever get finished?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: GT3B mod
PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:29 pm 
Offline
Supporting Member.
Supporting Member.

Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:57 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Yelm WA
Needs2hunt wrote:
is this still the go to cheap radio setup??? or is there something new and better???



Yes. Get gt3c. All mods are done but 90 header and hack...... comes with 1s lipo

_________________
Will my C3 rig ever get finished?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 71 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group